State Security Licensing Requirements

Not everyone is qualified to install or consult on school security.
Licensing requirements for security consultants and security contractors (installers) differ from state-to-state. 

The following is a summary of licensing and continued education requirements for each state.

*This information is provided without warranty and is not intended as legal advice.
Please contact your state's governing agency to insure you have the most accurate information.

StateGoverning AgencyLicensing RequirementsCEU RequirementsAgency LinkLicensing LinkCEU Link
AKDepartment of Community and Economic Development, Division of Occupational LicensingUnder Article 7, a license is required for an electrical administrator license in the controls and control wiring category as defined by installing low-voltage controls of 48 volts or less; exams administered by PSI8 hours per year; NBFAA members are required an additional 12 hours per yearAgencyLicensingCEU
ALAlabama Electronic Security Board of LicensureLevel I or equivalent approved course12 hours each yearAgencyLicensingCEU
ARFire Alarm and Sprinkler System Installer LicenseESA Level I, NICET Level II or board-approved equivalentThere are no state requirements for continuing education at this time; NBFAA members are required 12 hours yearlyAgencyLicensing
AZArizona Registrar for ContractorsApplicant must have taken the correct trade exam; All Candidates are required to take and pass a Business Management Examination.Currently, the state does not require continuing education; NBFAA members require 12 hours yearlyAgencyLicensing
CACalifornia State Licensing Board, For Low Voltage and General Electrical ContractorsThe qualifying individual for a contractor license is required to pass the written Law and Business Examination and a specific trade examination if required, unless he or she meets the requirements for a waiver; To be eligible to take an examination, the qualifying individual must have had, within the last 10 years, at least four (4) full years of experience in the classification for which he or she is applying.32 hours by renewal date; NBFAA members require an additional 12 hours per yearAgencyLicensing
COColorado State Electrical BoardNo statewide license is required for design, installation and maintenance. Currently, the state does not require continuing education; NBFAA members require 12 hours yearlyAgency
CTDepartment of Consumer ProtectionSubmit an application, an application fee, and the required documents to PSI licensure: certification (PSI). Once you have met the requirements, you will be issued an Examination Eligibility postcard.3.5 hours of course specific content as it relates to the specific license category of continued education credit as requested.AgencyLicensingCEU
DEState of Delaware Department of Administrative Services, Division of Professional Regulation, Board of Electrical Examiners10 hours by renewal date; NBFAA members require 12 additional hours yearlyAgencyLicensing
FLDepartment of Business and Professional Regulation, Division of Professions, Electrical Contractors’ Licensing BoardUses Pearson VUE/Promissor Test Center; Business section (50 scored test questions, 2 ½ hours) and a Technical/Safety section (100 scored test questions, 5 1/2 hours).licensees are required to take 1 hour of continuing education in Florida Laws and Rules as part of their 14 hours of continuing education.AgencyLicensingCEU
GAGeorgia Board of Construction Industry4 hours per yearAgencyLicensingCEU
HIState of Hawaii Department of Commerce and Consumer AffairsAgencyLicensing
IAIowa Department of Public Safety; Division of State Fire Marshalstate Licensing of all electricians and electrical contractors; can take an exam to qualify for license, exam sponsored by State of Iowa; Electrical Examining Board has approved PSI for this testing service and they can be contacted at www.psiexams.com or 1-800-733-9267.6 hours each year; minimum of 6 hours of electrical code, and an additional 12 hours of related electrical installation technique; NBFAA members are required 12 hours yearlyAgencyLicensingCEU
IDDivision of Building Safety; Electrical Bureau, Licensing SectionExam given by Nationally Recognized Testing Laboratories (NRTL)For every three years you hold a valid Electrical Journeyman or Masters license you are required to obtain sixteen (16) hours of code update and eight (8) hours of an Industry related course; NBFAA members require 12 hours yearlyAgencyLicensingCEU
ILState Fire MarshalCan license through exam - offered by Continental Testing 708-354-9911There are no state requirements for continuing education at this time; NBFAA members are required 12 hours yearlyAgencyLicensingCEU
INOffice of the State Building CommissionerThere is no statewide licensing; though most municipalities have contractor licensing. Some municipalities have low voltage/specialty licensing. NBFAA members are required 12 hours yearlyAgency
KSKansas State Board of Technical ProfessionalsNo statewide license for low-voltage work. Local/municipal level only.Currently, the state does not require continuing education; NBFAA members require 12 hours yearlyAgency
KYPublic Protection Cabinet - Dept of Housing, Buildings and ConstructionICC Kentucky Low Voltage Electrician Examination administered by an approved examination provider.6 hours each yearAgencyLicensingCEU
LALouisiana State Fire Marshal’s OfficeNational Training School (NTS) Level 1 Certified Alarm Technician Course; or 2. NTS Level 2 (Advanced Intrusion Systems Course and Fire Alarm Installation Methods Course); or 3. Elite CEU Alarm Level 1 Course; or 4. Elite CEU Fire Alarm Installation Techniques (FAIT) and Advanced Electronic Intrusion Technician (Alarm Level 2); or 5. Bank-Tec South Initial Security Certification Course.24 hours every 3 yearsAgencyLicensingCEU
MAConsumer Affairs and Business Regulation; Division of Professional Licensureexaminations are administered at the PSI examination; When your application has been approved, PSI will email or mail you an Examination Authorization Notice, along with information about scheduling your examination.21 hours by renewal date; Any licensee who does not complete the required 21 clock hours of continuing education by the license renewal deadline shall complete one additional 21 clock hour course for each renewal cycle for which the licensee is delinquent; NBFAA members require an additional 12 hours per yearAgencyLicensingCEU
MDDepartment of Labor, Licensing and Regulation; Division of Occupational and Professional LicensingThe State Board of Master Electricians issues only one license: Master Electrician. In Maryland the actual performance licenses to perform electrical work is issued by each of the municipalities. Many of the municipalities do issue additional categories of electrical licenses. All of these licenses are “lesser” than a Master Electrician. For example, some local municipalities may issue a “limited electrician”or“low voltage” license. Individuals interested in obtaining a lesser license must contact the local jurisdiction where he or she intends to be doing that kind of work. Not all municipalities offer a lesser license. In the municipalities that do not offer a lesser license, an individual would need to hold a master electrician’s license to perform any kind of electrical work. a master electrician shall have completed 10 hours of continuing education during the prior license term; each local determines CE requirements for low voltage licensing; NBFAA members require 12 hours yearlyAgencyLicensingCEU
MEMaine Department of Professional and Financial Regulation; Office of Licensing and Registrationapproved by the Electricians' Examining Board 15 hours of NEC code updates every three years; NBFAA members are required an additional 12 hours per yearAgencyLicensingCEU
MIDepartment of Labor and Economic Growth; Department of Licensing and Regulatory AffairsBe certified by the National Institute for Certification in Engineering Technology (NICET) as an associate engineering technician, level II, or the equivalent as determined by the board, in the field of fire alarm systems technology; Must take and pass the examination.Most Michigan licensed producers and solicitors must earn 24 credits of State-approved education credit every two years.  Of the 24 credits, a minimum of 3 credits must be in ethics.  The "other" 21 credits may be in accident & health, life, property, casualty, etc.  If a licensee completes more than 3 credits in Ethics, any additional credits beyond the 3 required ethics credits will count toward the "other" 21 credits needed; NBFAA members require an additional 12 hours yearlyAgencyLicensing
MNMinnesota Department of Labor and Industry; Construction Codes and Licensing Divisionapplicant is required to pass an examination for the type of license soughtmust have earned 16 hours of approved continuing education credit; NBFAA members require an additional 12 hours per yearAgencyLicensingCEU
MOMissouri Division of Professional RegistrationNo specific statewide license is required for design, installation and maintenance for low-voltage systems.Currently, the state does not require continuing education; NBFAA members require 12 hours yearlyAgencyLicensing
MOOfficial Missouri State WebsiteNo specific statewide license is required for design, installation and maintenance for low-voltage systems; local licensing applies in some areasNBFAA members require 12 hours yearlyAgencyLicensing
MSMississippi Fire Marshal (Residential Electronic Protection Division)ESA Level 1 Certified Alarm/Security Technician training course, or equivalent training approved by the State Fire Marshal.AgencyLicensingCEU
MTMontana Department of Labor and Industry;' Board of Private Patrol Officers and InvestigatorsStatewide license required for selling, servicing, or installing fire alarm systems, special agent fire suppression systems, or fire extinguishing systems. Security Alarm Installer, and Electronic Security Company; The employing company must provide training; once an app is approved a letter is sent so they can sit for the examCurrently, the state does not require continuing education; NBFAA members require 12 hours yearlyAgencyLicensing
NCThe NC Locksmith BoardBoard issued exam. The test is generally offered quarterly; February, May, August, November. Other test administrations may be available.24 hours every 3 yearsAgencyLicensingCEU
NCAlarm Systems Licensing BoardESA's Level 1 Course6 hours every 2 yearsAgencyLicensingCEU
NDNorth Dakota State Electrical BoardAt this time there does not appear to be any separate specialty electrical licensing.8 hours by renewal date; NBFAA members require an additional 12 hours per yearAgencyLicensing
NEState Electrical BoardExam required, must submit application and get approval for exam12 hours by January 1 of every odd numbered year; NBFAA members require an additional 12 hours per yearAgencyLicensingCEU
NHAt this time, the State of New Hampshire does not appear to have any specialty licensing for low-voltage electrical work.Currently, the state does not require continuing education; NBFAA members require 12 hours yearly
NJThe New Jersey Fire Alarm, Burglar Alarm, and Locksmith Advisory Committee24 hours per triennial licensing cycle. These hours must include 1. Two hours in "Barrier Free Subcode, N.J.A.C. 5:23-7; 2. Two hours in New Jersey Uniform Construction Code, N.J.A.C. 45:5A-27; 3. Two hours in ADA Code, 36 C.F.R. Section 1191. Burglar Alarm licenses must also have three hours in Smoke Detection Systems. The rest of the hours shall be form trade-related subjects; if they hold 2 licenses they must do 14 more hours for total of 38 hours; if they hold 3 licenses they must 14 more hours for total of 52 hoursAgency
NMContractor's Licensing Service Inc; State of New Mexico Regulation and Licensing DepartmentMust be pre-approved to take th exam; In addition to the trade-specific examination(s) you must either pass the Business and Law offered by Experior Assessments or take an "approved" Business and Law Course.16 hours (8 hours code related and 8 hours non-code) every 3 years; NBFAA members require 12 additional hours per yearAgencyLicensingCEU
NVNevada State Contractors Boardrequired to pass the written Business and Law (Construction Management Survey exam) and trade examinations unless he or she meets the requirements for a waiver. The Nevada State Contractors Board has contracted with PSI Licensure (PSI) to administer the exams.There are no state requirements for continuing education at this time; NBFAA members require 12 hours yearlyAgencyLicensing
NYDepartment of State; Division of Licensing ServicesApplicants for a Security or Fire Alarm Installer license must satisfy the education requirement by completing the prescribed courses consisting of four 15-hour modules and one 21 hour module as listed below and must pass the final examination for each module.Currently, the state does not require continuing education; NBFAA members require 12 hours yearlyAgencyLicensing
OHOhio Department of Commerce; Ohio Construction Industry Examining Boardpass the examination in the trade; Approved applicants will be provided with a PSI Candidate Information Bulletin with the approval letter. The PSI Bulletin will contain detailed instructions on how to schedule your exam(s)NBFAA members require 12 hours yearlyAgencyLicensingCEU
OKOklahoma Department of Labor; Alarm and Locksmith Compliance UnitA statewide license is required for anyone who sells, installs, alters or repairs alarm systems (including Burglar/Fire Alarm Systems, Locksmiths, Access Control, CCTV and Nurse Call). An electrical contractor or electrician who is licensed by the state is not required to have an additional alarm license; Testing is done through Career TechThere are no state requirements for continuing education at this time; NBFAA members are required 12 hours yearlyAgencyLicensing
ORDepartment of Consumer & Business Services and Building Codes DivisionBuilding Codes Division sends approved applicants a letter of authorization to take an examination.Limited Energy Tech Class A - 8 hours of code change relatedAgencyLicensingCEU
PAPennsylvania Department of StateThere is no State Level low voltage electrical licensing. All electrical and alarm licensing requirements are regulated at the local level.Currently, the state does not require continuing education; NBFAA members require 12 hours yearlyAgencyLicensing
RIDepartment of Labor and Training; Division of Professional Regulationexamination shall be administered by the DepartmentCurrently, the state does not require continuing education; NBFAA members require 12 hours yearlyAgencyLicensing
SCDepartment of Labor, Licensing and Regulation; Contractors Licensing BoardNTS Level I or NICET Level II; exams taken through PSIThere are no state requirements for continuing education at this time; NBFAA members are required 12 hours yearlyAgencyLicensing
SDState Electrical CommissionTo renew your license (every even year) you must have at least 16 hours of continuing education. Eight hours must be code-related. The remaining eight hours may be non-code; NBFAA members require an additional 12 hours per yearAgencyLicensingCEU
TNTennessee Alarm Systems Contractors BoardExam by PSI Services16 hours in 2 yearsAgencyLicensingCEU
TXTexas Department of Licensing and Regulation4 hours; These hours must cover: 1. NEC 2. NFPA70E (Elec. Safety) 3. Texas Law (Title 8, Occupations Code, Chapter 1305) and 4. Texas Rules (Title 16, Texas Administrative Code, Chapter 73)AgencyLicensing
TXTexas State Fire Marshal's OfficeExam by PSI Services; can be waived if hold ESA Level II or NICET Level IINo CE required for Fire certifications per Sharon Sanders. All types of Electrical license holders are required to complete 4 hours during each license period (1yr)AgencyLicensing
UTUtah Division of Occupational and Professional Licensing, Burglar Alarm BoardAn Electrician Licensee is obligated to complete sixteen hours of continuing education each licensing period. Twelve hours must be "core" education and the remaining four can be "core" or "professional" related.AgencyLicensing
VADepartment of Professional and Occupational Regulation; Board for Contractors, Tradesmen1 3-hour course each year; NBFAA members are required 12 hours yearlyAgencyLicensingCEU
VTDepartment of Public Safety; Division of Fire SafetyMaster and Journeyman - 15 hours; NBFAA members require an additional 12 hours per yearAgencyLicensingCEU
WAWashington State Dpt. of Labor and IndustriesDepartment of Labor & Industries administers electrical certification laws for the state of Washington. Anyone who works in the electrical construction trade must be certified as a journey level or specialty electrician. To become certified you must pass the exam related to the work that you will be doing.24 hours in 3 years; 8 hours on currently adopted NEC changes; 4 hours on currently adopted Revised Code of WA and related WA Administrative Codes, 12 hours from any approved coursesAgencyLicensingCEU
WIDepartment of Safety and Professional Services24 hours by March 30 of the year the license expires; NBFAA members require an additional 12 hours per yearAgencyLicensing
WVState Fire MarshalSpecialty Electrician with a classification in Fire/Burglar Alarm (low voltage)There are no state requirements for continuing education at this time; NBFAA members are required 12 hours yearlyAgencyLicensing
WYDepartment of Fire Prevention & Electrical Safetytake the Wyoming limited/low voltage technician exam; exam given by International Code Council (ICC)Currently, the state does not require continuing education; NBFAA members require 12 hours yearlyAgencyLicensing